Skip to main content
News   |   Events   |   Safety   |   CHESS-U   |   InSitμ   |   MacCHESS   |   CLASSE

X-RAY RUNS: Apply for Beamtime

2017  Nov 1 - Dec 21

2018  Feb 7 - Apr 3
2018  Proposal/BTR deadline: 12/1/17

2018  Apr 11 - Jun 4
2018  Proposal/BTR deadline: 2/1/18

Matthias Liepe

Dr. Matthias Liepe, Associate Professor of Physics, has accepted leadership of the Superconducting Radio Frequency (SRF) group. This change was made effective on March 29th, 2016.

Georg Hoffstaetter

Dr. Georg Hoffstaetter, former head of the SRF group, will now become Cornell’s Principal Investigator for C-BETA (Cornell-Brookhaven ERL Test Accelerator).

The SRF group will continue its successes under the leadership of Matthias. “Cornell’s SRF group is a world leader in the field of SRF because each member of this group is passionate about our research and because we are working together as one team. I look forward to building on the many achievements of Georg, and am thankful for and excited about being part of such a great team,” says Matthias.

The SRF group is extremely strong and has been enormously productive for many years. The team has made important advances in high-Q cavities, new SRF materials, increased understanding of cavity performance in cryomodules thanks to the HTC, design and construction of the MLC, operation and improvements of the ILC, and chemical procedures for high-gradient cavity polishing.

Georg is excited to focus his efforts on the new ERL accelerator, the world’s first 4-turn ERL with FFAG return loops. He states, “The SRF group is an exceptional team of dedicated experts, and heading it for many years has been a distinct honor. The ERL completely relies on the SRF systems this group has built and I am therefore looking forward to a continued and close contact with the SRF group.”

Please join us in welcoming Georg and Matthias in their new roles within CLASSE.



Submitted by: Rick Ryan, CLASSE, Cornell University